share
Advertisement

How I do it: Patricia Knudsen

The DJ and radio host shows us how to wear a man's shirt, and his Gucci Guilty Absolute

By ELLE Malaysia | Published: 5 Jun 2017

HIDI: Patricia K
Photo: Bryan Ong/ELLE Malaysia

Who are you and what do you do?
I'm Patricia Sue-Lin Knudsen, 29 years old and half Malaysian, half Danish. I was born in Hong Kong, lived in Japan for three years, Hong Kong for around six to seven years and Denmark for 11 years. I am a radio host, certified Xtend Barre instructor and DJ. I have lived in Malaysia for the past nine years and I just became a new mum to my little baby girl Sophia.

MY MORNING ROUTINE

What time do you normally wake up?
It's been extremely unstable with the timings the past half year due to having a baby, so I either wake up before Sophia wakes up or I wake up when she wakes up which is around 9-10am.

What's the first thing you do in the morning?
I go to my little girl. If she is sleeping, I wash my face and take care of my skin. I switch on CNN. If Sophia is awake, it's all about her until her first nap.

Patricia and her daughter Sophia (Photo: Bryan Ong)

What's your daily beauty routine?
I always have to wash my face after I wake up and before I go to sleep! It is a must! Plus brushing my teeth is something I have to do or I don't feel clean. I use quite a lot of different products but now I am using Shiseido Ultimune. It's really working well for my skin. I also love Kiehl's, Lancome and Nars. My skin is so important to me, so I only want the best for it.

Is there a particular makeup item you never leave the house without?
I never leave home without Elizabeth Arden's 8-hour cream, Dior lip glow, Nars powder and a concealer. Sometimes I am out and about all day rushing around for meetings and work, so I make sure to bring them in case I need a quick touch up.

Do you wear fragrance every day, or only on special occasions?
I always wear fragrance! Smell is so important! I always make sure to spray a fragrance on after a shower.

What type of fragrances do you like?
I like sexy and sensual scents as well as ones with a springy and summery vibe. A light and fresh smell is nice for day time. For events and work at night, I like wearing a stronger, warmer scent.

GETTING DRESSED

How do you decide what to wear in the morning?
It depends on my mood and how fat I feel. If I have been working out, I notice I'm much more confident about wearing tighter clothing. When I am a bit tired and might not feel so good about myself, I prefer loose clothes. I really just go with the flow, but I do like wearing clothes that make me feel ready to take on the day.

Photo: Bryan Ong

Do you have favourite pieces you wear when you can't think of anything else, or do you always try and wear something new?
I have my favourite pieces (I always feel like I need new clothes just like any other girl out there), I love trying out new things as well. I am someone who likes to change things up and I also like to wear something that I can feel proud in. It really depends on my mood that day.

What's your favourite piece that you've bought recently?
If I have to be honest, it was a pair of jeans from Zara that fit me (nearly) perfectly. Ever since my pregnancy, jeans became something that I leave on the shelves (my thighs grew so fast when I was pregnant that I just became scared of wearing them!). I got three of the same pair in different colours which really made me happy.

WORK

What does a normal day look like for you? (Or is every day different?)
Every day, we have a routine for Sophia which makes it easier for us. I follow that to make sure she eats and sleeps properly, and that we also spend time and play with her. When it comes to me, my day is always different. I have many projects and things that I am working on. I love that I can wake up and know there is always something new for me to do.

What do you spend most of your work time doing?
I do spend a lot of time around people, which I love. I host, DJ, I have my new radio show coming soon on AFOradio, and other projects that will hopefully take off soon. I am lucky to have so many different jobs. It makes me feel like I can constantly learn something new or improve myself.

What's your favourite part of the working day?
I don't have a 9-5 job, but my manager and I make sure I have meetings on the days that I am not hosting or DJ-ing or doing something else. I mostly work evenings when I host and DJ of course. So actually from the minute I open my eyes, there can be a whole programme that I have penciled in my schedule. It can end early or it can end at 4am the next day. My favourite part is nothing in particular – it's when I get to do what I love.

What time do you normally finish work?
There is never an exact time. If I don't have a job, I will be working on something else.

Photo: Bryan Ong

MY NIGHT ROUTINE

What do you do to unwind when you get home after a long day of work?
I take my bra off, then take a nice warm shower, clean my face, eat something good and watch a TV series with Joey. If Sophia is not sleeping, I play with her. She brings so much happiness and joy into our lives and makes me forget about stress.

Do you prefer to be at home, or out with friends in the evenings?
It goes both ways. It's about balance. I love being at home with my family. It's cosy and it's my safe spot. I also love going out and spending time with friends; you need that to stay sane and to have fun when you need it. I try to balance it out, but right now, I try to spend more time with Sophia. She is growing so fast and I don't want to miss out on anything!

What are some of your favourite cafes or restaurants to eat at?
SO MANY! It's like asking me what my favourite song is. Right now they are La Juiceria, The Social, Paradise Dynasty, Pan & Tamper, Ippudo, Village Duck, any awesome Chinese hawker stall with salted egg yolk crabs, Kenny Hills baker, Thai and Japanese places like Rakuzen and Ekkamai. I also love food courts and pan mee. Like I said – so many! I just love food so I really love going everywhere.

Photo: Bryan Ong

HOW I UNWIND

What's your favourite way to spend the weekend?
Being with my friends, exercising, cooking at home, having family time or travelling.

What music do you enjoy listening to?
Indie mostly. I love anything that makes me feel good and I love music that helps me relax. Music means a lot to me.

What would be the perfect holiday?
My perfect holiday is when I get to do things like skiing, snowboarding, bungee jumping and exploring. I'd also love going away with my family and have Sophia explore and learn new things. I can't wait to bring her around the world and for her to be a person who loves learning about new cultures and places. We hope to go to New Zealand soon.

What would be the perfect night out?
Being with people I trust, who I can have a good laugh with. I always prefer pubs because we can talk and catch up over a drink. Is that because I am getting older?

The Gucci Guilty Absolute Eau de Parfum (150ml, RM429) is available at department stores nationwide.


Most Popular

Advertisement
ELLE Instagram

bottom reach....load more