CFDA announces winners

Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen, Tom Ford and Pharrell Williams were among the winners at the American fashion industry's awards

By Liz Bautista | Published: 2 Jun 2015

CFDA 2015 winners
Photo: Swarovski

The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) recognised design excellence during its annual fashion awards (the Oscars of the fashion industry) held Monday night at the Lincoln Center in New York.

In collaboration with Swarovski, CFDA awarded Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen of The Row with Womenswear Designer of the Year. Tom Ford, on the other hand, won the award for Menswear Designer of the Year, while Tabitha Simmons bagged Accessories Designer of the the Year. As for Pharrell Williams, he was named CFDA's Fashion Icon.

Meanwhile the Swarovski Award for Womenswear, Menswear and Accessory Design went to Rosie Assoulin, Shayne Oliver for Hood by Air and Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel respectively.  

Designer Betsey Johnson, 72, was also awarded the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, while everyone's favourite app, Instagram, scored The Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard. The Founder's Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert was given to Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board of J.Crew Millard "Mickey" Drexler. Finally, Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino accepted the International Award.

Congratulations to all the winners!

Related: CFDA Awards 2015: Red carpet


Most Popular

ELLE Instagram


bottom reach....load more