America’s most fashionable council elects two new members

Marchesa's Georgina Chapman and Calvin Klein Collection's Italo Zucchelli join the CFDA board

By Jamie Khoo | Published: 20 Oct 2014

New CFDA members
Photo: Getty Images

We can only imagine how glamorous board meetings must be for the Council of Fashion Designers of America. After all, it’s not every day you walk into a boardroom helmed by a personality as big as Diane von Furstenberg.

This fashionable collective will see two new additions when Georgina Chapman, Marchesa’s co-creative director and founder, and Italo Zucchelli, Calvin Klein Collection’s creative director, join the board. They join other fashion game changers such as the CFDA’s vice presidents Michael Kors and Marcus Wainwright, and general secretary Vera Wang.

The CFDA is a not-for-profit trade association, founded by leading fashion publicist Eleanor Lambert in 1962. With more than 400 members today, comprising womenswear, menswear, jewellery and accessory designers, the CFDA aims to strengthen the work of established designers as well as provide to support and resources to students.

It also supports charitable causes such as Fashion Targets Breast Cancer, contributes to relief efforts during natural disasters such as in Haiti and Japan, and addresses the growing concern of eating disorders and unhealthy body image in the fashion industry via the CFDA Health Initiative.

The rest of the CFDA board comprises Oscar de la Renta, Ashley Olsen, Marc Jacobs, Ralph Lauren, Prabal Gurung, Tommy Hilfiger, Jenna Lyons, Norma Kamali, Derek Lam, Tracy Reese, Deborah Lloyd, Mimi So, Kara Ross, Philip Crangi, Tory Burch, Stan Herman, Carole Hochman, Reed Krakoff, Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough.

Related: Marchesa SS15
Related: Calvin Klein SS15


Most Popular

ELLE Instagram


bottom reach....load more