'The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo' trilogy gets a sequel

David Lagercrantz has completed a sequel to Steig Larsson's Millennium crime novels

By Andrea Tim | Published: 30 Jan 2015

Dragon Tattoo sequel
Photo: Sony Pictures

Come August, David Lagercrantz's sequel to Steig Larsson's best-selling Millennium trilogy will be released in at least 35 countries. That Which Does Not Kill follows the events after The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl who Played with Fire and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets' Nest, and centres on the same tattooed computer hacker, Lisbeth Salander.

David told Swedish newspaper Dagens Nyheter that he stuck to Steig's writing style after picking up the unfinished drafts left behind by the late author. Steig died of a heart attack in 2004 at the age of 50.

"What I wanted to make use of in the book was the vast mythology that Stieg Larsson left behind, the world he created," he said. "Lisbeth Salander's not just any superhero. She's not only great because of her talents but also because of her context and background."

Publishers Nordstedts is planning a 27 August 2015 launch date for That Which Does Not Kill.

The Millennium trilogy was adapted in 2009 into a three Swedish thiller films starring Prometheus actress Noomi Rapace, who went on to win numerous awards for her portrayal of Lisbeth. In 2011, Rooney Mara (pictured above) took on the same role in the English language version of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, which earned her best actress nominations at the Golden Globe Awards and Academy Awards.

Related: ELLE's January 2015 Bookshelf


Most Popular

ELLE Instagram


bottom reach....load more