share
Advertisement

Instagram notifies the sender if you screenshot disappearing messages

This Instagram feature is a gentle reminder that you can trust no one

By Verinia Khoo | Published: 28 Nov 2016

Your secret is out
Sandra Bullock in 'The Blind Side' (Photo: Alcon Entertainment)

After introducing Instagram Stories, the Boomerang filter, and its live video streaming feature, Instagram now allows you to send "disappearing messages" to your followers. So it's a little more like Snapchat, but minus the addictive interactive filters. These messages disappear after the recipient has seen it.

But what everyone is freaking out about is that, like Snapchat's feature, if you screenshot the disappearing message, your sender will be notified.

Uh oh.

The new update only applies to screenshots of disappearing messages, nothing else (thank heavens). Still, if you wanted to secretly screenshot a photo of your crush, he'd be notified; just think of that. Or imagine if you sent a message to a friend that's only for their eyes, and you get a screenshot notification. Paranoid? So are we.

Privacy and trust is a myth. Trust no one.

Related: Kanye West joins Instagram
Related: The only Instagram account to follow: DILFS of Disneyland
Related: 5 foodie Instagram accounts you should be following


Most Popular

Advertisement
ELLE Instagram

bottom reach....load more